Will This Tattoo Turn Me Into a Hipster?

I’ve been contemplating getting a new tattoo. And, as a life long cyclist and advocate for bicycling in general, I’d like the tattoo to have a bike theme. It is at this junction that I stumbled upon this image:
5eUexafEunm7565lp0aiO0v5o1_400

Now it just so happens that I have a truly awesome cat. When I got him I never even imagined I could like an animal so much. He’s got personality, pazazz and charm. So it started to make more than a little sense that I should get a tattoo of my cat riding a Penny Farthing.

One problem: That tattoo would give me instant Hipster Cred. Now the bicycle in the tattoo would be a Penny Farthing and not a Fixie (the preferred bike of choice of the New Age Urban Bohemian) but I’m not keen on the idea of the label being given to me. The key to the problem is the idea that the tattoo would be perceived as “hipter-ish.” Why? The whole problem with hipsters is that here’s group of people trying to be unique to stay ahead of the cool/fashion/culture curve yet they all end up following trends and looking ironically alike despite carrying an attitude that suggests otherwise. A cat riding a Penny Farthing has the perception that I’m trying to be different when really it’s not that far from a tattoo of a dolphin smoking out of bong:
dolphin-smoking
One of the components of the hipster culture is the bicycle, Fixie or otherwise. What kind you get, how you choose to use it and any accoutrements you want to add to go with it (cat + Penny Farthing tattoo) remain unique to the individual even if that individual is being affected by the culture they are surrounded by. So, to hell with it, I don’t care what people think of that tattoo, I love it and maybe I’ll get it inked on as a Christmas present to myself. But I will say one last thing: the difference between me and a true hipster is that I know this tattoo will not make me cool or be in and of itself unique. It will just be a permanent image that reminds me of two of my favorite things.

One thought on “Will This Tattoo Turn Me Into a Hipster?

  1. […] Will This Tattoo Turn Me Into a Hipster? (rideabikedenver.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

